Computer Applications (CPA)


Computer Applications (CPA) is a compulsory subject for all Normal Technical (NT) students. The CPA curriculum spans four years, from Secondary 1 to Secondary 4, leading to the National Examinations at the end of Secondary 4.

The Computer Applications syllabus aims to prepare our Normal Technical (NT) students to be technologically-adept citizens, and to function and contribute effectively in an increasingly technologically driven world.

The syllabus emphasizes fundamental knowledge and skills, and includes the appreciation and use of software application packages for word processing, computer drawing and image editing, multimedia presentations and documents, spreadsheet calculations and charts, game design, programming, and applications on the Internet.


Computer Applications (CPA) Curriculum

In lower secondary, the syllabus focuses on equipping students with fundamental ICT skills that will support learning of the other NT subjects and are useful in their personal life.

In upper secondary, the syllabus focuses on higher-order thinking skills. Students taking CPA will learn problem-solving skills and understand basic programming concepts and skills. Basic programming concepts and skills, learnt through simple animation and game design, can eventually be applied to solve problems in everyday context. This serves to better prepare students for further studies in programming and media-related courses, as well as for the work place and future learning.

There are six compulsory modules in the subject. These modules are:

(1) Computer Fundamentals

(2) Media Elements

(3) Document Processing

(4) Spreadsheets

(5) Multimedia Communication

(6) Media Computing.


Students' works

For more information, do refer to the following links: